Gold Sponsor

Silver Sponsor

Sponsor Best Paper Award

The SIGWEB Student Travel Award Program is intended to help student authors attend
SIGWEB conferences. Awards are administered by the SIGWEB Executive Committee,
which delegates the task to a particular SIGWEB officer.
Student Travel Awards are given to authors who are currently students or who were  students at the time of submission of their papers. Preference in awards is given to students who are first authors and will present the paper at the conference. The size of the award given is based on the funds available for the particular conference and the student’s expected travel expenses. Awards are typically larger for authors of full papers.
To apply for a SIGWEB Student Travel Award, the student should submit the following:
1. A completed application form (Word / PDF)
2. A resume
3. A letter of support from the student’s research advisor
These materials should be sent to:
Ethan Munson, SIGWEB Chair
Dept. of EECS
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
munson at uwm.edu
Electronic submissions are preferred.

Important Dates

  • Applications due April 11
  • Notification of decission by May 3

Best Poster & Best Paper Award

The best paper award at the ACM International Conference on Web Science Conference 2011 goes to:

The Effect of User Features on Churn in Social Networks by Marcel Karnstedt, Matthew Rowe, Jeffrey Chan, Harith Alani and Conor Hayes

and to

Sic Transit Gloria Mundi Virtuali? Promise and Peril at the Intersection of Computational Social Science and Online Clandestine Organizations by Brian Keegan, Muhammad  Aurangzeb Ahmad, Dmitri Williams, Jaideep Srivastava and Noshir Contractor

The honorable mention goes to:

Negotiating the Web Science Curriculum through Shared Educational Artefacts by Su White, Madalina Croitoru, Stéphane Bazan, Stefano Cerri, Hugh Davis, Raffaella Folgieri, Clement Jonquet, François Scharffe, Steffan Staab, Thanassis Tiropanis and Michalis Vafopoulos

The runners up are:

Is there anybody out there? – Social Media as a new social fetish by Karolin Eva Kappler and Ricard Riuz de Querol


Digital Hermeneutics:  Agora and the Online Understanding of Cultural Heritage by Chiel van den Akker, Susan Legêne, Marieke van Erp, Lora Aroyo, Roxane Segers, Lourens van der Meij, Jacco van Ossenbruggen, Guus Schreiber, Bob Wielinga, Johan Oomen and Geertje Jacobs


Small Worlds with a Difference: New Gatekeepers and the Filtering of Political Information on Twitter by Pascal Juergens, Andreas Jungherr and Harald Schoen

The best poster award goes to:

Asymmetric Cyber-warfare between Israel and Hezbollah: the Web as a new strategic battlefield by Sabrine Saad, Stéphane Bazan, Christophe Henri Varin and Lorraine Etienne


Congratulations to everyone!